Forked Up

I’m headed back today from covering The Fork Horse Trials this weekend. The single most disappointing part of the show is that the official hashtag isn’t #GetForkedUp or something along those lines, but I digress. I was the only media representative from the USEA, so I was out on my own for the first time and it went great!

Maya Black and “Cody” we’re the big winners overall, and I was thrilled for them. Maya is awesome and Cody is a 15.2 hand dynamo that was still dragging her to the fences even at the end of the course #PonyPower. There were also two Advanced divisions, so initially I was unsure if I alone could cover all three divisions, but I pushed through and was really pleased with my coverage. All three winners will be headed to Rolex at the end of the month, so watch out for them!

Besides the fact that I stayed in the sketchiest motel ever… 45 minutes away from the venue, it was a great weekend. The weather was mostly mild, besides saturday when the wind was taking out the stadium jumps, and I had a lot of fun!

My photos in the dressage we’re mostly nice. My photos in the show jumping were hit or miss, but on Sunday my sister came to visit me and brought me her camera: A Nikon D3300 with a 70-300 mm lens. I was essentially in heaven. I have been having SO much trouble with the camera from work, and I was starting to get discouraged, but with my sister’s camera I was super happy with the photos, and it’s safe to say I will be bringing this bad boy to Rolex!

Here’s all my coverage: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

I’ll share some of my favorite photos again πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Forked Up

  1. nadsnovik says:

    Love love love Maya and Cody! Have had the opportunity to get to know her personally as she lives not far from here and she is a LOVELY person who deserves lots of success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

