Can We Talk About This?

For those who didn’t shut the door to your office yesterday to watch the live stream of Olympic cross-country in its entirety, let me summarize: it was brutal. Clear rides were few and far between. Seasoned champions ย met defeat. Underdogs pulled some amazing moves out of thin air. And I was at the edge of my seat all day. (Seriously that’s the most stressful day of work I’ve ever had).

The course was very difficult – just technical question one after another. Even the let up fences had some sort of terrain challenge.

Only two Americans made it all the way around: Boyd Martin on OTTB-powerhouse Blackfoot Mystery and Phillip Dutton on Mighty Nice. Coincidentally both riders were born and raised in Australia.

bridesmaids

this is uncomfortably real

But the main thing I want to talk about is Phil’s save of the day.

Phils Save

BBC Screen Grab via Eventing Nation

WHAT THE WHAT

This was early on in the course, at fence 6. I don’t totally understand how he saved this, but within seconds on landing, he also though quick enough to turn out of this line (the direct round was to a second corner straight ahead). He turned to the alternate route with one stirrup #LikeABoss. He then went on to make the rest of the course look easy.

I attribute that reaction time to the decades he’s spent in the saddle – Inspirational! I have fallen off for much less ๐Ÿ™‚

USA is out of contention for team medals, but Phillip is in fifth and Boyd is in sixth – show jumping has already started, so here’s hope for their top individual finishes.

Are you followingย the equestrian sports in the Olympics? Do you, like me, want to be able to ride like Phil?ย 

Update 2:30 pm: PHILLIP AND HAPPY WON THE BRONZE!!!

 

12 thoughts on “Can We Talk About This?

  1. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    The Rio Olympics have been… interesting from top to bottom this year, to say the least. If nothing else, I’m becoming more and more a fan of having a permanent home for the Olympics, instead of all this nonsense.

    Like

  2. emma says:

    perhaps the most incredible thing was that this particular save wasn’t even the craziest thing that happened on course… Phillip is basically my hero tho – so glad he got the bronze!

    Like

  3. Courtney says:

    That is talent! I’m super envivious! I’d like to say that maybe if I work hard enough I could be that good, but I really think I could never do a save like that …lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

